“I am the Earth Mother and you are all flops.”

– Elizabeth Taylor in Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?


Anarchababies. Kevin’s girls.


“There are no bosses in this house, Kevin.”


tiny solidarity!


Tom tried on Orla’s ballet-style shoes at the climbing wall & attempted to boulder with them.


“Those are climber’s legs, girl.”


I went to Clonakilty for a day (the Tidiest Town in Ireland ’99; first “Fair Trade Town” in Ireland; etc.), a port city in west Cork. I kind of suspect that the bike so expediently placed there is costume jewelry for a pub trying to look more authentic than it is. I never checked to see if it was fastened or not, though.


When I stepped off the bus there was this guy, Ayodele from Sierre Leone, leading a drum circle in the middle of Clonakilty with a bunch of old Irish men in strange “get ups”. Jesus, that’s a funny expression, too. I wish I had the OED, where does the term “get up” come from?


dazzling little leg roaming by!


I ended up walking along Ring Road, a road that runs along the side of Clonakilty bay, though the basin looked tarry & putrefied, as all “low tides” in Irish bays look & smell. I’m sort of curious about learning more about tides & lunar cycles, but not enough to satisfy my curiosity. Maybe one of you can give me a brief, clear explanation.


The Best Thing about Clonakilty.
The cats are such sweethearts. After being in Cork all year, I’m used to cats being more feral, defensive, skittish and never find one that will let me pet it. In Clonakilty, they’re pampered, nurtured, kept sweet & unflappable. So much that when I’d cat call one, it’d come bounding towards me without hesitation. Glee.


This one could not care less, though.


A great collectibles/antique shop that looked a lot more promising than it actually was. I would’ve gotten some gorgeous dish sets if I had a job, a way of transporting them, and a permanent residence in IRL.


People are tired of their Prince Charles & Lady Diana Spencer tins (the cake is still inside!)


Seriously, they are done.


Sweet stall.


I don’t really understand the connection between the Tiananmen Square massacre and Clonakilty, Ireland, but so be it.


be a little less subtle.


Feagle River & the backsides of some houses.


PAY ATTENTION TO ME.


French Election Party. I was surrounded by 14 very unhappy French friends & one Swede
as the results came in & Sarkozy [saʁkɔzi] received a “mandate” of 53% to Royale’s 47%.
Okay, they all look happy enough in this picture, though.

Books I read this year in bold [THIS IS ONLY SINCE SEPTEMBER!].
I am pretty pleased with myself.
Books I’m currently reading are in bold & italics.

Dubliners by James Joyce
Ulysses by James Joyce

Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce
James Joyce by Patrick Parrinder
the White Guard by Mikhail Bulgakov
the Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov
Murphy by Samuel Beckett

Watt by Samuel Beckett
Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett
the God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
Life is Elsewhere by Milan Kundera
Caliban and the Witch by Silvia Federici
the New Bloomsday Book by Harry Blanmire
Invitation to a Beheading by Vladmir Nabokov
Home Before Night by Hugh Leonard

A Wild People by Hugh Leonard
the Meaning of Everything: the Story of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester
Peggy Deery by Nell McCafferty
Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
the Sea by John Banville

Time Regained, Volume 12 of Remembrance of Things Past by Marcel Proust
the Last September by Elizabeth Bowen
The New Oxford Book of Irish Verse

Water Babies by Charles Kingsley
Fury by Salman Rushdie
Feminism & Renaissance Studies by Oxford Readings in Feminism
Don Juan Tenorio y Temas de Espana
Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence
the Climb by Anatoli Boukreev
Touching the Void by Joe Simpson
the Aran Journals by J.M. Synge
Alcoholica Esoterica by Ian Lendler

Death & Nightingales by Eugene McCabe
Homage to Catalonia by George Orwell
Twenty Years a-Growing by Maurice O’Sullivan
Early Myths and Sagas collected by Penguin Classics

Shorter stories & novellas read:
Julio Cortázar’s Bestiario (Casa Tomada; Carta a una Señorita en Paris)
Alicia Kozameh Pasos Bajo el Agua (Carta a Aubervilliers; Como en la Guerra. En la Guerra.)
Alejandra Pizarnik (La Condesa Sangrienta)
Mario Benedetti (Geografías; Más o Menos Custodio; Balada; Escrito en Überlingen.)
Isabel Allende (Dos Palabras; el Oro de Tomás Vargas)
the Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Allan Poe

Used as constant reference points/touchstones:
Englisch/Deutsch Dictionary
Spanish/English Dictionary
Philosophy of Language by Alexander Miller
the Odyssey by Homer
Ireland travel guide by DK Press
Lonely Planet’s Walking in Ireland
Essential World Atlas by DK Press


tiny femifist!

5 thoughts on ““I am the Earth Mother and you are all flops.”

  1. OMG that last one is fantastic!!
    The architecture in America is so boring. I love the stone buildings & streets, the greenery, and the colorful buildings. I want to live there!!

  2. I really could not agree more – I tried to think of exceptions, cities or American architects, but the ones that come to mind are just, well, boring. I do enjoy drowsy-looking suburbs where all the houses are 150 or more years old and have big, wraparound porches (& are surrounded by trees that are older than the houses). I do like New Orleans a whole lot, and there is a really wild place in Wisconsin called “House on a Rock”. Mostly I just like borrowed styles.
    Yeah, come live here!
    Honestly, the architecture here is also really yawn. I am realsick & tired of row houses, but at least everything is adorned & painted the brightest color imaginable. There aren’t trees, though :(.

  3. Well, I wish, but it was a special, designated, owl basket at the antique & collectibles shop. They were really cheap, so maybe I would’ve gotten some if I was living in Ireland indefinitely.
    I like wise owls that are into reading/into promoting reading.

Leave a Reply

