Paris and Florence (May/June 2013)

IMG_1898

I have the extremely good fortune to have a job that allows for a little travel each year, so at the end of May and the start of June, I had a few meetings that I extended into weekend trips on my own time & dime. First, Florence (for only about 2 1/2 days) and a few weeks later, Paris (again, only for a few days, but I probably walked about 12 hours a day).

Florence was a quick visit – I had to go straight to the University for a reception & early the next morning we had a editorial summit. The next day or so I covered Florence, from the Duomo Di Firenze:

IMG_1896

Ponte Vecchio

IMG_1866

And night walks

IMG_1911

IMG_1914

——

IMG_2140

Paris was great. The meeting went much better than I thought it might, which was a tremendous relief. Athough I have to give very regular presentations in my work, they always give me huge anxiety. I’ve generally figured out how to cope. There was so much I wanted to do and see – especially the catacombs and flea markets – but had to leave a little bit for next time.

I took the Eurostar from St Pancras to Paris Gare Du Nord, which is really such a luxury. Train travel to foreign countries. I was really pleased to find out that you can bring back as much wine and cheese as you can carry with no extra charge, taxes, fees or limitations. Take advantage!

My free time mostly consisted of night walks, nice cafes, park reading, flea market browsing…

Recommendations to pass along:
Luxembourg Gardens
Le Loire Dans La Théière
Marché aux fleurs
Rose Bakery (there are several)
Saint-Ouen, Seine-Saint-Denis (flea market that’s nearly impossible to find)

For night walks, you can’t miss the obvious. Start near the Louvre and walk from there to the Eiffel Tower. It’s just under 5 miles if you don’t meander. But you should meander.

IMG_2161

IMG_2204 IMG_2160 IMG_2217 IMG_2220 IMG_2244IMG_2263 IMG_2272IMG_2282

The next day, at Le Loire Dans La Théière:

IMG_2082

Tower of Meringue!

IMG_2081

Marché aux fleurs Paris ile de la Cité. Peonies.

IMG_2316

A jar of anonomous portraits IMG_2325

IMG_2326

Café Allongé and a little quichelette from Rose Bakery

IMG_2327 IMG_2320

Near Sacre Couer

IMG_2305

At Luxembourg Gardens

IMG_2105 IMG_2098 IMG_2110

And Notre Dame Cathedral

IMG_2085

And Saint-Ouen flea market (les pupuces)

IMG_2330

If you want to visit (you definitely should!) make sure you don’t follow your iPhone’s suggestions for directions. I found a really helpful bloggers instructions an absolute life saver after hours and hours of wasted searching: http://ohhappyday.com/2011/03/how-to-get-to-the-paris-flea-market/

IMG_2331 IMG_2341 IMG_2344 IMG_2348

 

Leave a Reply

